Australian players receive hefty punishments for ball tampering

28 Mar 2018
POSTED BY Alvin Thomas

Australian captain Steve Smith, deputy captain David Warner and Cameron Bancroft have been found guilty in the Cape Town ball-tampering scandal.

Steve Smith and David Warner, as per reports, will be banned for 12 months, each, while Cameron Bancroft, the third member of the trio who have been found by Cricket Australia’s internal investigation to have conspired to alter the condition of the ball at Newlands, has also been reported as being banned for nine months.

Cricket Australia (CA) is yet to confirm the sanctions off the back of the findings from the investigation into the ball-tampering incident carried out by CA Head of Integrity Iain Roy.

Website reported that the CA chief executive, James Sutherland, revealed the trio of Smith, Warner and Bancroft were the only members of Australia’s touring party – players or support staff – who had any knowledge of the plan to deliberately alter the condition of the ball.

Smith, Warner and Bancroft were found to have breached article 2.3.5 of the CA Code of Conduct, which relates to conduct at any time that is contrary to the spirit of the game, unbecoming of a representative, harmful to the interests of the game, or bringing the game into disrepute.

Share this

Public Reviews and Comments